memoirs, art and fragments by Thomas Milner

The six noble gases

The noble gases are a group of chemical elements with very similar properties. Once termed as inert, they are all odourless, colourless, monoatomic gases, with very low chemical reactivity.

The six noble gases that occur naturally are helium (He), neon (Ne), argon (Ar), krypton (Kr), xenon (Xe), and the radioactive radon (Rn).

Why am I suddenly interested in these gases?

Well for two reasons:

  1. No aspect of the physical composition of the universe can be totally without interest to any thinking person.
  2. Tomorrow morning I have go for my annual MRI scan to check the rate of growth of my brain tumours and liquid helium is used to cool the superconducting magnets (a.k.a. those noisy little buggers) in modern MRI scanners.

Modern MRI Scanner

Comments on: "The six noble gases" (3)

  1. Tom, I wish you well for tomorrow. I could think of better things for you to be doing. I hope it goes well.

    The six noble gases as opposed to the four noble truths. 🙂

    Take care



  2. Let us know how it goes! Good luck old mate x


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: